Opening batsman Martin Guptill has capped a stellar year with the bat to be named the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal winner at the 2011-12 New Zealand Cricket Awards last night.

The most prestigious award of the evening is voted for by an independent panel and is given to the player whose performances have been the most outstanding.

The 26-year-old has been in a rich vein of form across all formats during the season.

The tall right-hander was second only to Ross Taylor in test runs scored, while topping the one-day and Twenty20 tables for the Black Caps.


Guptill struck 490 test runs, 579 ODI runs and 378 T20 runs with a combined total of two centuries and 13 half centuries.

He also picked up the Redpath Cup for first-class batting - after a domestic season in which he hit 927 runs at an average of 42 - as well as the T20 and ODI player of the year awards.

New Zealand Cricket chief executive David White congratulated Guptill and said he richly deserved the honour after a memorable year with the bat.

"The individual honour caps off a great year for Martin Guptill,'' White said.

"He has been a star performer in all formats and the awards are a reflection of his commitment to the team and consistency as a player.''

The other big winner was Doug Bracewell who was named the test player of the year, awarded the Winsor Cup for first class bowling and took out the fans' choice award for his heroics in New Zealand's test victory over Australia in Hobart.

Gareth Hopkins was honoured as the men's domestic player of the year, while Frances McKay took out the women's award and Amy Satterthwaite was named the best of the White Ferns.

2011/12 New Zealand Cricket Awards winners
Sir Richard Hadlee Medal

Winner: Martin Guptill

ANZ Twenty20 Player of the Year

Winner: Martin Guptill

ANZ One Day International Player of the Year

Winner: Martin Guptill

ANZ Test Player of the Year

Winner: Doug Bracewell

Redpath Cup (first class batting)

Nominees: Kane Williamson, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor

Winner: Martin Guptill

Winsor Cup (first class bowling)

Nominees: Doug Bracewell, Mark Gillespie, Neil Wagner

Winner: Doug Bracewell

Domestic Player of the Year

Winner: Gareth Hopkins

Fans' Choice Award

Nominees: Kane Williamson, Doug Bracewell, Michael Mason, Mark Gillespie, Bevan Small, Martin Guptill

Winner: Doug Bracewell

Women's International Player of the Year

Winner: Amy Satterthwaite

Women's Domestic Player of the Year

Winner: Frances McKay

Gillette Young Player of the Year

Winner: Simon Hickey

Sir Jack Newman Award (junior cricket administrator)

Winner: Ross Parlane

The Bert Sutcliffe Medal (outstanding services to cricket)

Winner: Cran Bull