Napier City Rovers will get the chance to exact revenge on the team that pipped them to last season's Chatham Cup title, hosting champions Wairarapa United in the third round of this season's edition at Bluewater Stadium on June 24.

Wairarapa won last season's 84th Chatham Cup final 2-1 in Palmerston North but four-times winners Napier City, still smarting from that defeat, present a difficult hurdle on their way to reaching the 85th.

Wanganui City, who upset Island Bay United in Monday's second round, have landed a glamour tie against four-time winners Miramar Rangers at their Wembley Park home, while Oratia United have also drawn home advantage as they attempt to get past Hamilton based Northern Premier League side Melville United.

Westlake Boys' High School, who stunned two-times winner Manurewa 7-2 on Monday, now face Birkenhead United in their quest to reach the last 16, while Northern League second-division clubs Manukau City and Mangere United will both be happy to draw each other and avoid bigger guns.


Southern League-leaders Dunedin Technical travel north to meet Christchurch's Coastal Spirit in the pick of the southern region ties, although with the eight remaining teams in that region hailing from the two premier regional, the ties promise to be close encounters.

There are heavyweight battles elsewhere as Central United host Waitakere City boasting seven Chatham Cup titles between them while the clashes between Three Kings United and Bay Olympic, and Lower Hutt and Maycenvale are both all-premier league match-ups.

The ASB Chatham Cup is an 89-year-old knockout competition and is played along regional lines in early rounds, becoming national at the quarterfinal stage. The final is scheduled for the weekend of August 25 and 26.

Round Three (June 23/24) - venues to be confirmed

Northern Region (Northern, Auckland and Waikato-BOP Football Federations)
Eastern Suburbs v Takapuna
Hamilton Wanderers v Waitemata
Central United v Waitakere City
Oratia United v Melville United
Three Kings United v Bay Olympic
Onehunga Sports v Papatoetoe
Manukau City v Mangere United
Birkenhead United v Westlake Boys High School

Central Region (Central and Capital Football Federations)
Lower Hutt v Maycenvale
Napier City Rovers v Wairarapa United
Wanganui City v Miramar
Upper Hutt v Stop Out

Southern Region (Mainland Football and Football South)
Cashmere Technical v Nelson Suburbs
Western v University
Coastal Spirit v Dunedin Technical
Caversham v Roslyn Wakari