A motorway project, Ponsonby apartment, office and cafe hub and three new education buildings have won architecture awards.

Rick Pearson, award jury convenor for the NZ Institute of Architects, announced the 46 winning projects from 107 entries in the Auckland Architecture Awards.

The Waterview Connection, mixed-use precinct Vinegar Lane behind Ponsonby Rd and buildings at Remuera's King's School, Unitec in Pt Chevalier and University of Auckland were some of the winners.

Warren and Mahoney's Waterview Connection won a planning and urban design award, praised for its sheer grandeur and the dramatic Te Whitinga or Hendon footbridge which the judges said "stitched back a community which found itself on either side of the motorway".


"Warren and Mahoney has added a layer of sophistication to the development of this motorway infrastructure project. The use of pou at ventilation shafts and as markers at each portal, seamlessly integrated with the tunnel, brings sheer grandeur to the project," the judges said.

Vinegar Lane, master-planned by Isthmus for supermarket owner Progressive Enterprises, impressed the judges for its "back to the future concept of small, defined development lots with a focus on architectural quality throughout. Progressive Enterprises should be congratulated for undertaking an innovative approach to developing this block."

The new King's School Centennial Building by Warren and Mahoney, The Hub - Te Puna by ASC Architects and Designgroup Stapleton Elliott and the university's Science Centre Building 302 by Architectus also won awards.

Residential awards went to a Hobsonville Point townhouse project, Housing New Zealand Corporation places in Mt Albert, apartments in Grey Lynn and Ponsonby. Stevens Lawson Architects' Sunderland 6 project at Hobsonville Point was commended for its distinctive building units.

The Barrington apartments in Grey Lynn by Paul Brown Architects was praised for incorporating small tenancies with live and work areas.

"The two street frontages create dynamically different conditions while maintaining the texture and grit of the neighbourhood," the jury found.

Vinegar Lane's Aria Apartments by TOA Architects "raises the design bar high by meeting the challenge for entry-level housing within a high-density urban development," the judges said.

Enduring architecture awards went to Stanish and Withers for the Campbell Courtyard House from 1972 and Claud Megson Architect for the Green House, which dates back to 1977.

Heritage awards were won by Architectus and Salmond Reed Architects for the revitalisation of Alfred Nathan House and Isthmus Group and Stevens Lawson for the Ellen Melville Centre and Freyburg Place.

RCG's award-winning Maori Television building interior. Photo/Sam Hartnett
RCG's award-winning Maori Television building interior. Photo/Sam Hartnett

RCG won an interior award for the Māori Television building and Cheshire Architects and Herringbone Interiors of the United States won for the Tara Iti clubhouse at the exclusive golf course north of Auckland where former US President Barrack Obama played with ex-Prime Minister Sir John Key.

Herbst Architects won a residential award for Kawakawa and Waiheke Island houses, Crosson Architects for a Kawau Island bach and Guy Tarrant Architects for a Mt Eden house.

Commercial architecture
119 Great North Road – Warren and Mahoney Architects
EMA Business Hub & Carpark – Avery Team Architects
Faraday Street Precinct ¬– Fearon Hay Architects

King's School Centennial Building – Warren and Mahoney Architects
Unitec The Hub – Te Puna – ASC Architects and Designgroup Stapleton Elliott
The University of Auckland Science Centre Building 302 – Architectus

Enduring architecture
Campbell Courtyard House (1972) – Stanish and Withers
The Green House (1977) – Claude Megson Architect

Alfred Nathan House – Architectus and Salmond Reed Architects in association
Ellen Melville Centre and Freyberg Place – Isthmus Group and Stevens Lawson Architects in association
Mission Bay Pavilion – Herbst Architects and Salmond Reed Architects in association

Interior architecture
119 Great North Road – Warren and Mahoney
GridAKL Innovation 5A (12 Madden) and Mason Bros – Jasmax
Māori Television – RCG Limited
The Boys – Brave Architects

Mission Bay Pavilion – Herbst Architects
Tara Iti Clubhouse – Cheshire Architects and Herringbone Interiors (USA) in association

39 Allum St – Dorrington Atcheson Architects
Anzac Bay House – Vaughn McQuarrie
Castor Bay House – SGA Ltd – Strachan Group Architects
Fe3O4 – Crosson Architects
Kawakawa House – Herbst Architects
Kawau Island Bach – Crosson Architects
Lantern House Waiheke – Herbst Architects
Mount Eden House – Guy Tarrant Architects
Rawene House – Stevens Lawson Architects
Reserve House – Geoff Richards Architects
Shipshape – Robin O'Donnell Architects
Space Invader – PAC – Paterson Architecture Collective and Glamuzina Architects in association
Volcano House – Rowe Baetens Architecture
Whare Koa – SGA Ltd - Strachan Group Architects

Housing multi-unit
Aria Apartments – TOA Architects
Jennings Jersey – Monk MacKenzie
Sunderland 6 – Stevens Lawson Architects
The Barrington – Paul Brown Architects
The Foundries – Jasmax and Hunter Hindmarsh in association

Housing alterations and additions
Courtyard Loft Conversion – Alignworks
Northland Lake House – Rowe Baetens Architecture
The Stables – McKinney + Windeatt Architects

Planning and urban design
The Waterview Connection – Warren and Mahoney Architects
Vinegar Lane – Isthmus Group

Public architecture
Manukau Bus Station – Beca Architects and Cox Davies in association

Small project architecture
Habitat Markers – Isthmus Group
Motu Kaikōura Lodge – SGA Ltd – Strachan Group Architects
Objectspace Gallery – RTA Studio
The Camp – Fearon Hay Architects