The finalists have been named in this year's Deloitte Top 200 awards, where Spark, Z Energy and Restaurant Brands will vie for the coveted title of Company of the Year.

As well as battling for the top company prize, Z Energy's Mike Bennetts and Spark's Simon Moutter are both in the running for Executive of the Year, along with Ebos' Patrick Davies.

Deloitte Top 200 judging panel convenor Fran O'Sullivan, who is NZME Head of Business, said the judges were particularly impressed at the calibre of this year's finalists.

"The finalists are a diverse group of individuals and organisations but a common thread is a passion to see New Zealand companies succeed locally and in some cases also on the international stage."


Fellow judge Cathy Quinn added choosing between each finalist to select a winner was also difficult. ""Every finalist has a great story", said Quinn who is chair of MinterEllisonRuddWatts.

"Each is a person or organisation that is held in high regard for their achievements and contribution. Judging the very best in New Zealand business is both humbling and daunting. Every finalist is a person or organisation who should be celebrated for what they have done. The Deloitte Top 200 is a night for the business community to come together, put aside individual competitiveness and recognise the success of each of the finalists and the overall winners".

The judging panel also includes independent directors Dame Alison Paterson, Sandy Maier and Jonathan Mason, and Forsyth Barr managing director Neil Paviour-Smith.

Deloitte chief executive Thomas Pippos said:
"This year's group of finalists are an impressive and diverse group. The companies and individuals recognised continue to succeed against the challenging backdrop of our ever-changing business landscape. They are making a difference - both financial and non-financial - to our country, providing meaningful impact in the markets and the communities in which they operate. I'm particularly impressed with the calibre of the finalists in the Young Executive of the Year category. This talented group show that the future of business in New Zealand is in good hands."

The Deloitte Top 200 business awards applaud outstanding individual and team performances within New Zealand's largest companies.

The annual event, which is in its 27th year, will be held at Vector Arena on Thursday December 1 in partnership with NZME Events and Deloitte.

This year's theme is Investing in the Future. A Visionary Leader award will also be announced on the night.

The sponsors of the 2016 Deloitte Top 200 awards include AJ Park, QBE, Eagle Technology, IMNZ, MinterEllisonRuddWatts, Orbit World Travel, Massey Business School and MBIE.

Tables of 10 for the Deloitte Top 200 awards can be obtained from