Kiwi firms succeeding on the world stage are being urged to enter this year's New Zealand International Business Awards.

2016 marks the 50th year of the prestigious awards, run by New Zealand Trade and Enterprise (NZTE). Entries for the awards open today and close on July 8.

During the last half century some of New Zealand's most recognisable businesses have been inducted into the awards' hall of fame, including Crown Lynn, Tonka, the Apple and Pear Marketing Board and Gallagher Group.

NZTE's chief executive Peter Chrisp says the awards celebrate the innovation and a can-do attitude among business leaders.


"The NZIBA celebrates the emergence of these companies and leaders, and all the grit, fortitude and resilience that is required to be successful," Chrisp said.

"After a long period of liberalisation of New Zealand's economy, only those companies that are internationally competitive will survive over the long term. Almost by definition, if they are here and succeeding then they have found an international niche within which they can compete," he said.

David Downs, NZTE convenor of judges, said all eligible companies operating internationally should enter.

"The reason I love judging these awards is because we get to meet these incredible New Zealand businesses who have achieved phenomenal things on the international stage.
The key benefit of entering is the chance to tell your story to a much wider audience - and have people there to listen. It's about the story of your success, what makes you tick and what makes your company so interesting."

Last year's supreme winner was tourism company Magic Memories and its director Geoff Burns said entering is a good process to go through.

"It's a good learning experience, it encourages you to make sure you can tell your story simply and that you have good validation of the success points along the journey to date, and what that may look like going forward," he said.

ANZ, since 2009, has been the strategic partner of the awards, which are sponsored by KPMG, MFAT, Callaghan Innovation, Kotahi, MBIE, Te Puni Kokiri and Treasury.

Businesses can enter the awards at

- Staff reporter