Bank of New Zealand chief executive Anthony Healy has been elected chair of the New Zealand Bankers' Association for the next financial year.

Healy takes on the role today, replacing incumbent Barbara Chapman.

ANZ chief executive David Hisco was elected deputy chair.

Healy said the association was integral to maintaining the balance between workable regulation and economic growth, which was of substantial benefit to the country.


"I am delighted to take the role of Chair on behalf of BNZ.

"Our banks are rated as the most sound in the world and we look forward to a productive year with the Association and its members, and continuing meaningful engagement with stakeholders," he said.

BNZ takes over the chair bank role from ASB.

New Zealand Bankers' Association chief executive Kirk Hope thanked Barbara Chapman for her contribution as chair over the last year and welcome Healy to the role.

Established in 1891, the New Zealand Bankers' Association advocates on behalf of the industry in support of a successful banking system that benefits New Zealanders and the New Zealand economy.

The association currently has 15 members, all of which are banks registered under the Reserve Bank of New Zealand Act 1989.

The association's governing body is its council, comprising the chief executive of each member bank.

In addition, the association has recently established a category of affiliate membership to formalise relationships it has with other organisations involved with the banking industry.