A leading figure for bowls in New Zealand for many years, Kerry Clark, has been made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the Queen's Birthday Honours.

He was appointed an Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire in 1989 for services to bowls. He has been Bowls New Zealand chief executive since its amalgamation in 1996 and chaired the World Bowls laws committee since 2004, overseeing the rewriting of the game's laws three times. He chaired the Bowls Events New Zealand board which organised the 2008 world championships. In this role, he was also responsible for accessing the funding required to run the World Bowls international events in New Zealand from 2004 to 2008, and the World Bowls internationals in Christchurch from 2013 to 2016.

Kaiapoi's Tony Hall has also been awarded a CNZM for services to education and sport.

As Pro-Chancellor and then Chancellor of Lincoln University, he has provided leadership through a challenging period post-earthquake, and has overseen the progression towards the establishment of the Lincoln Research and Education Hub.


He is on the board of the New Zealand Olympic Committee and is a member of its selection panel. He supports and sponsors the Winter Paralympian team. He established the Gilly & Tony Hall Foundation to help fund this and other charitable initiatives and has had a long association with Canterbury sport.

Sue Edwards, who has contributed to synchronised swimming in New Zealand and abroad for more than 56 years, has also been awarded a CNZM. She has held many administrative positions within synchronised swimming in New Zealand.

She is one of only five International Swimming Federation (Fina) judge educators in the world and her contributions to Fina's technical committee were recognised with a Fina gold pin in 2009.

Her commitment has been a key driver of the growth of synchronised swimming in New Zealand and she continues to work hard nationally and internationally for the development of the sport.

Allan Fenwick, Marton, and Graeme Steel, Auckland, were awarded Officer of the New Zealand Order of merit, for services to the thoroughbred racing industry and for services to sport respectively.

Members of the New Zealand Order of Merit were: Cran Bull, Christchurch, for services to cricket; Tim Gresson, Timaru, for services to the law and sport; Ray Haffenden, Auckland, for services to league; Dennis May, Auckland, for services to karate; Maurice McKendry, Auckland, for services to harness racing; Allen McLaughlin, Auckland, for services to sports broadcasting; Tom O'Connor, Invercargill, for services to boxing; Judy Russell, Whitianga, for services to netball.

5 Jun, 2017 5:00am
3 minutes to read