Continuous rain not the only upset at the Heartland Bank National Open Championships.

Jo Edwards and Val Smith are out of contention for the womens pairs title for 2017. The experienced duo met Reen Stratford (Aramaho) and Linda Ralph (Carlton Cornwall) in round one of post section play today in Taranaki. After 11 ends the table was square at nine a piece. Stratford drew a three to climb 12-9. On the 17th end the score was again level at 14. Ralph held the shot on the final end, and was lucky to be missed by Edwards drive for victory. Stratford and Ralph won 15-14.

Stratford and Ralph proved their worth during their second knock out game, beating Ann Loveridge (Wanganui) and Marilyn Constantine (Wanganui East) 17-8 to make the top 8. Quarter-finals will be played on Friday 6th January at Paritutu Bowling Club.

Round one also saw big names Angela Boyd and Tayla Bruce leave the championships. The pair from Burnside, went up against fellow Blackjack Katelyn Inch and her partner Debbie White (Hinuera). Inch got an early lead in the game (up 9-0 after 5 ends) and never surrendered. Bruce came back with a four on the 6th end only to conceded defeat early after 15 ends, going down 8-24.

Local Val McEldoney winner of the 2013 National Singles title last time the championships were held in Taranaki, required an extra end to overcome Angela Temple (Point Chevalier) 14-16. McEldoney and partner Margy Carey (New Plymouth) were down 13-5 after 12 ends, but crept back end by end only conceding one on the 15th end.

The Mens singles post section play was postponed today due to heavy rain and will be played on Friday 6th January.

Upsets are again on the horizons as tomorrow will kick off the womens single and mens pairs post section play. First up, Katelyn Inch and Val Smith World Bowls 2016 Bronze Medallists will go head to head in what is sure to be an outstanding match.

Womens Pairs Post Section Results:

Round 1: R Stratford(Composite) bt J Edwards (Composite) 15-14, A Loveridge (Composite) bt L Stewart (Hikurangi) 19-18; K Inch (Composite) bt T Bruce (Burnside) 24-8; L Mills (Kensington) bt D Patterson (Composite) 16-9, A Bateman (Composite) bt L Pouwhare (Composite) 24-8, V McEldowney (New Plymouth) bt A Temple (Composite) 16-14, R Fitzgerald (Naenae) bt J Ropitini (West End) 17-15, D Taylor (Wanganui) bt D Strawbridge (Kensington) 16-14, N Grimshaw (Composite) bt C Andrews (Paritutu) 14-

12, N Toomey (Composite) bt R Davies (Composite) 28-10, E Hickey (Composite) bt S Burnand (Composite) 21-5, J Stockford (Composite) bt K Guilford (Composite) 14-13

Round 2: C Bien bt A Muir 15-14, D Rayner bt L Ropitini 16-11, R Stratford bt A Loveridge 17-8, K Inch bt L Mills 23-18, V McEldowney bt A Bateman 20-14 , D Taylor bt R Fitzgerald 21-7, N Grimshaw bt N Toomey 20-13, E Hickey bt J Stockford 16-15

The top eight womens pairs are:

Dale Rayner and Ashleigh Jeffcoat (Composite), Reen Stratford and Linda Ralph (Composite), Catherine Bien and Sue Curran (St Heliers), Denise Taylor and Dot Belliss (Wanganui), Natarsha Grimshaw and Leeane Poulson (Composite), Estelle Hickey and Val Knightly, Katelyn Inch and Debbie White (Composite), Val McEldowney and Margy Carey (New Plymouth).

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Bowls New Zealand