Some names from the past have been recognised for their services to sport in the New Year Honours, including cricketer John R. Reid, squash champion Ross Norman and athlete Dick Tayler.

Reid, a former test captain who played for New Zealand from 1949-1965, has been made a companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to cricket. He served as an ICC match referee from 1993 to 2002, managed the New Zealand under-19 team on their tour to England in 1996 and was made a life member of New Zealand Cricket in 2006.

Norman and Tayler were made members of the New Zealand Order of Merit, along with Rita Fatialofa-Patolo and Sheryl Dawson.

Norman, honoured for his services to squash, ended Pakistani maestro Jahangir Khan's five-year winning streak in 1986. Norman played in seven world championship tournaments between 1979 and 1993. He was made a member of the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame in 2009.


Tayler, who has been recognised for his services to athletics, became a household name when he won gold in the 10,000m event at the 1974 Commonwealth Games in Christchurch. He is still prominent in the Christchurch community, working with rugby and the special Olympics.

Fatialofa-Patolo, who has been honoured for her services to sport, represented New Zealand in netball and softball and was a world champion in both disciplines in the 1980s. She was inducted in to the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame in 1999. She coached the Samoan national netball team and was teacher in charge of netball at Auckland Girls' Grammar School this year.

Dawson was recognised for her services to netball. She served as chief executive of the Waikato-Bay of Plenty Magic from 2003-2012 and from 1999-2003 she was president of the International Netball Federation.