Key Points:

It won't have Elvis, or Hendrix or Queen, but New Zealand is set to get its very own Music Hall of Fame.

RIANZ and APRA announced the joint venture last night and will induct the first member this September at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards on September 18.

A second member will be inducted a month later at the New Zealand Music Awards on October 18.

The honour is intended to celebrate and acknowledge "the most significant contributors to our musical landscape".

We asked the Herald entertainment team who they would like to see inducted into the NZ Music Hall of Fame.

Here are their picks:

Russell Baillie
Split Enz - the entire band, not just the Finn brothers.
Ray Columbus

Scott Kara
The Dead C

Rebecca Barry
The Datsuns
Upper Hutt Posse

Alan Perrott
Johnny Devlin
Daphne Walker