Mulligan, 23, was ' />

Doncaster Rovers defender David Mulligan is a late scratching from New Zealand's two-match home soccer series against Malaysia.

Mulligan, 23, was due to assemble with the All Whites in Auckland today but has remained in England because of an injury crisis at the League One club.

He has been replaced by New Zealand Knight Cole Tinkler.

The inclusion of fullback Tinkler, 19, means there are nine uncapped players in coach Ricki Herbert's 20-man squad for the internationals in Christchurch on Sunday and Auckland four days.

Herbert said Doncaster had requested that Mulligan remain with the club.

"Doncaster have a number of players out in what is a difficult time of the year for them," he said.

"Their decision is very frustrating and one I unfortunately have to keep dealing with. Sadly, it's a reality of international football for matches outside the Fifa match windows."

The matches against Malaysia are outside the windows during which clubs have to release players for international duty.

Herbert has already lost Fulham midfielder Simon Elliott and New England Revolution defender Tony Lochhead from the original squad named to face Malaysia.

His team for the opening match at QE2 Park will be announced on Friday.

Malaysia are due to arrive in New Zealand tomorrow.


All Whites:

Campbell Banks (YoungHeart Manawatu), Andrew Barron (Canterbury Utd), Leo Bertos (unattached), Andrew Boyens (Otago United), Jeremy Brockie (New Zealand Knights), Tim Brown (Richmond Kickers/US), Jeremy Christie (Knights), Brent Fisher (Canterbury Utd), Jeff Fleming (Green Gully/Victoria), Danny Hay (captain, Perth Glory), Noah Hickey (Knights), Glen Moss (Knights), Ross Nicholson (Auckland City), Steven Old (St John's University/US), James Pritchett (Auckland City), Jarrod Smith (University of West Virginia), Shane Smeltz (AFC Wimbledon), Cole Tinkler (Knights), Adrian Webster (Darlington), Craig Wylie (Waitakere Utd).


Mohd Shamsuri Mohd Mustafa (Terengganu), Mat Saiful Mohamad (Pulau Pinang), Linggam Krishnan (Melaka Telekom), Ronny Harun (Sabah), Norhafiz Zamani Misbah (Pahang), Thirumurugan Veeran (Perak), Mohd Fadzu Saari (Pahang), Mohd Safee Mohd Salj (Sarawak), Mohd Amri Yahyah (Selangor), Mohizam Shah Dawood Shah (Selangor PKNS), Mohd Fazli Baharuddin (Selangor MPPJ), Saramasaka Limam (Kedah), Azi Shahrilazmi (Perlis), Nanthakumara Lkalliappan (Selangor MPPJ), Mohamad Kaironnisam Sahabudin Hussain (Selangor MPPJ), Ahmad Azlan Zainal (Perak), Zairo Anuar Zalani (Terengganu), Mohd Nasril Nourdin (Peral), Mohd Faizal Abd Rashid (Selangor MPPJ), Surendran Rasiah (Perak), Rudie Ramli (Melaka Telekom), Mohamad Hardi Jamar (Melaka Telekom).