A position on DairyNZ's Board of Directors has attracted seven dairy farmer candidates.

From October 1, levy-paying dairy farmers will vote for their preferred candidates in this year's DairyNZ Board of Directors election. The successful candidate will play a key role in supporting the governance and leadership of DairyNZ.

DairyNZ chairman Jim van de Poel spoke to The Country Early Edition's Rowena Duncum about the kind of skills looked for in a potential candidate.

Van der Poel says DairyNZ is looking for someone who can tackle the many environmental challenges now facing dairy farmers, who has real standing in the industry and can make key decisions with good judgement.


Listen below:

"When new directors come on they always bring new thinking with them ... a new perspective, and that's always and exciting part of it."

Ultimately the decision is now with DairyNZ's levy-paying farmers, when they start voting from October 1.

The 2018 DairyNZ Board of Directors candidates are:

ATKINSON, Steve (Wardville)
BARRETT, Tim (New Plymouth)
BROWN, Tracy (Matamata)
MITCHELL, Greg (Napier)
MONTGOMERIE, Mike (Cambridge)
ROBB, Andrew (Greymouth)
ROWARTH, Jacqueline (Tirau)

For more information, visit dairynz.co.nz/agm.