The 10 finalists for 2019's Taite Music Prize have just been announced, and as expected it's a genre-smashing line-up that highlights the variety and quality of local music released in 2018.

The prize honours the best New Zealand album released in the past year, with the winner receiving $10,000 cash, recording time at Red Bull Studios, Auckland, and, most importantly, massive bragging rights.

The finalists this year include pop-punks The Beths, soul sister Tami Neilson and pop-rock goddess Julia Deans.

To celebrate the Taite Music Prize's 10th birthday, Independent Music NZ (IMNZ) have also announced a new Independent Spirit Award, which will go to someone who goes above and beyond in assisting our local musicians, and a venue shift to the Q Theatre for the ceremony.


Named after influential music journalist and broadcaster the late Dylan Taite, the prize has previously gone to artists like Aldous Harding, Street Chant and Lorde.

The 10 finalists for the 2019 Taite Music Prize are:

Alien Weaponry - Tū
Avantdale Bowling Club - Avantdale Bowling Club
Jonathan Bree - Sleepwalking
Julia Deans - We Light Fire (
Marlon Williams - Make Way For Love
Mel Parsons - Glass Heart
Tami Neilson - SASSAFRASS!
The Beths - Future Me Hates Me
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Sex & Food
Wax Chattels - Wax Chattels

The winner will be announced, along with the IMNZ Classic Record Award, the Independent Spirit Award and the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut Award, at a ceremony on Tuesday, April 16.