New directors and trustees have been appointed to the Bay Venues Limited and Tauranga Art Gallery Trust boards.

Tauranga City Council appointed Mary-Anne Macleod, Dr Bruce Bryant and Colin Groves as the new directors to the Bay Venues Limited board.

The new trustees appointed to the Tauranga Art Gallery Trust board are James McCarthy, Grant Neagle and Sylvia Willison.

The new board members will begin their roles on May 1.


Appointment panel chairman, Councillor Max Mason, said the council valued its partnership with its council-controlled organisations and welcomed all new board members.

"All six board members join their respective boards at an exciting time," he said.

Mason said the board members will oversee and support both organisations to deliver key strategic priorities while helping the council successfully deliver its community outcomes.

Bay Venues' new chairman Michael Smith said the new directors had big shoes to fill, following on from their successors Peter and Murray Gutry.

"We're looking forward to working with Mary-Anne, Bruce and Colin," he said.

"Their skill sets and experience complement those of our current board members and will further enhance the contribution that the recreation and events sectors bring to this region."

Tauranga Art Gallery Trust chairman Peter Anderson said the new trustees took the reins from Simon Clarke and Tina Harris-Ririnu.

He said both made significant contributions to Tauranga Art Gallery Trust during their terms.

"James brings considerable experience in the arts, while Grant has strong commercial acumen and Sylvia brings significant governance experience and mana whenua connections here in the Bay."

Bay Venues
Mary-Anne Macleod is the former chief executive of the Bay of Plenty Regional Council, with senior community leadership and executive management experience, including a $120m operating budget and a large capital expenditure and asset management programme.
Mary-Anne is a member of the Institute of Directors and is currently serving on the boards of National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research and House of Science.

Dr Bruce Bryant is an independent director and audit and risk committee chairman of Core Education Limited. Based in Auckland, Bruce travels frequently to Tauranga in his role as chairman of Te Tuinga Whanau Support Services Trust. A member of the Institute of Directors, Bruce is the former chairman of Auckland Regional Migrant Services Charitable Trust board.

Colin Groves is a fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants and currently chairman of Oriens Capital private equity firm in Tauranga, as well as an independent director of SeaDragon and Sprout agritech accelerator. He is also chairman of the board appointments committee for Quayside Holdings Limited and an independent non-executive chairman of Global Sustainable Farming and Waikato Rugby Union.

Tauranga Art Gallery
James McCarthy is a highly qualified and experienced arts professional based in Whakatāne. James' experience includes manager at Auckland Elam Fine Arts School, Art Gallery director and subsequently board member at Te Tuhi Public Art Gallery, Pakuranga. James is currently chairman of the Contemporary Art Foundation, with an extensive understanding of art gallery operations and CCO relationships.

Grant Neagle is a former director of PwC in Hamilton and current director of Ingham Mora, Tauranga. Grant has extensive experience in all aspects of financial, trust and taxation matters and experience in strategic and business planning as they relate to commercial and not for profit entities.

Sylvia Willison is of Ngai Tamarawaho hapu and Ngati Ranginui iwi. Currently chief executive of Huria Charitable Trust, Sylvia served on the Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Council for six years and on the Poutiri Trust for six years. She is currently a trustee on the Nga Hapu o Ngati Ranginui Settlement Trust, representing one of her two hapu affiliations. Sylvia has the mana, connections and experience to become a valued contributor to the Tauranga Art Gallery board.