The date has been set for the election of nine trustees to the Te Arawa Lakes Trust and the current chairman wants to see a board of people with strong governance skills.

On Saturday, December 1, Te Arawa will have the opportunity to vote for who it wants to see representing it on the Te Arawa Lakes Trust.

At the same time, there will be a special resolutions poll for six proposed amendments to the Deed of Trust.

There are three vacancies across three rohe - Te Kawatapuarangi, Te Ure o Uenukukopako and Tūhourangi.


Nominations for the spaces closed in late September and now there are 18 people vying for the nine vacancies, including current chairman Sir Toby Curtis.

Curtis said the trust needed representatives who "knew what governance was".

"Otherwise it makes it very difficult for the managers to do the operational work required to meet the directive of the trust.

"They need to know how to encourage and assist, and make the job of management easy."

The objective of Te Arawa Lakes Trust is "to develop the lakes, not only to look after them but see how it can be addressed in such a way as to get some economic return".

Curtis said it was an important position because it wasn't only Te Arawa who had a vested interest in the lakes but everyone that lived in Rotorua.

"We are in charge of the care, maintenance and future wellbeing so it's not something we take lightly."

Voting papers will be delivered to all adult members of Te Arawa shown on the Te Arawa register as being entitled to vote for each particular rohe from November 2.


All adult members are entitled to vote on the special resolutions poll.

Curtis said "no doubt, like all registers" there would be some people who were missing.

"We can never stop encouraging people to register.

"Most of the people in Te Arawa are [registered] because they want to get a fishing licence, but there is still time for those who haven't."

He said people needed to take part in the vote because the lake belongs to them and not the trust.

Voting will close at noon on December 1 and completed voting papers will be accepted up to December 4, provided the envelope is postmarked before the close date.

The Annual General Meeting of the trust will then take place at 10am on Sunday December 9 at Ōwhata Marae.

Te Kawatapuarangi rohe (3 vacancies)
Tamihana (Toby) Curtis
William Emery
Roland Kingi
Raina Meha
Kēpa Morgan
Mapihi Raharuhi
Arapeta Tahana
Te Taru White

Te Ure o Uenukukopako rohe (3 vacancies)
Roana Bennett
Kingi Biddle
Geoff Rolleston
Terry Rewi Tapsell

Tūhourangi rohe (3 vacancies)
Whare Wallace Hawe
Tiipene Perenara Marr
Nuki Nicholson
Niwa Nuri
Rangitihi Pene
John Tamati Waaka