Who do you want running Whanganui?

On Wednesday evening is a chance to run the rule over the council candidates and see what they have to offer the district and its ratepayers.

The Chronicle hosts the first of its candidates public meetings at the War Memorial Centre concert chamber - doors open at 6pm for a 6.30pm start.

Each candidate will give a four-minute presentation and will then face questions - some from Chronicle readers and some from the audience.


If you have issues you want addressed and have a question for those who are seeking your vote, come along tonight.

A second candidates meeting will be held tomorrow evening at the concert chamber.

The candidates line up as follows:

WEDNESDAY: Alan Abbott, Philippa Baker-Hogan, Steve Baron, David Bennett, Josh Chandulal-Mackay, Helen Craig, Brian Doughty, Jenny Duncan, Kiritahi Firmin, Dave Hill, Kate Joblin, David Matthews, Tony Mudgway.

THURSDAY: Ross Fallen, Doreen Hardy, Kyle Dalton, Craig Falconer, Stan Hood, Bevan Johnston, Hadleigh Reid, Phillip Reweti, Jill Sheehy, Rory Smith, Alan Taylor, Matthew Urry, Rob Vinsen, Graeme Young, Rangi Wills.