It wasn't the best return Northland and Black Caps fast bowler Tim Southee has ever had, but his one for 45 in the latest round of the Global T20 Canada tournament still held some sway.

Southee, playing for Vancouver Knights in North America's inaugural T20 competition, took the prized scalp of Winnipeg Hawks captain Dwayne Bravo for 30 of 17 balls, just as the West Indian was hitting his straps having hit three 4s and two 6s.

David Warner's miserable return to cricket continued yesterday (NZ time) when he faced only six balls for four runs as his Winnipeg Hawks team lost to Vancouver Knights by six wickets at the tournament.

On Friday, the former Australia vice-captain lasted just two balls before he was dismissed for one run in his first game since his country's ball-tampering scandal.


Winnipeg were put into bat Sunday and made 156-9 with opener Warner the first man out, caught by Rassie van der Dussen off the bowling of Sheldon Cottrell (3-28).

Tion Webster top-scored in the innings with 49 not out off 34 balls at the Maple Leaf North-West Ground.

In reply, Vancouver reached 162-4 in 17.4 overs with Hong Kong batsman Babar Hayat smashing 65 off 33, including five sixes.

Warner is serving a 12-month ban from Cricket Australia for his role in the ball-tampering incident during the third test against South Africa in Cape Town in March.

Warner and former Australia captain Steve Smith, who was also banned due to the scandal, are free to play in Canada, where Smith is also making his comeback.

Also yesterday, Fabian Allen made an unbeaten 75 batting at No 8 for Wests Indies "B", who beat the Edmonton Royals by three wickets.

The West Indies team were 66-6 chasing Edmonton's 155 when Allen came to the crease and steered them home in partnerships of 55 with Shamar Springer (15) and 38, unbroken, with Jeremiah Lewis.

Ireland's Kevin O'Brien top-scored with 49 from 17 balls for Edmonton who were bowled out in 19.4 overs.


Obed McCoy took 4-22 for the West Indies, including the wickets of Farhaan Berharien (29) and Shahid Afridi (13).

The six-team tournament is a partnership between Cricket Canada and the Mercuri Group, an India-based media and talent management company.

It runs through July 15.