Eight candidates will contest the Kaipara mayoralty and four for the Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Ward byelections.

Nominations for both byelections closed at noon yesterday and voting is scheduled for late January.

The Kaipara mayor's seat became vacant after the resignation of Greg Gent in mid-November while Labour's Northland candidate, Willow Jean Prime, getting into Parliament triggered the Far North District Council byelection.

In Kaipara, none of the sitting councillors except deputy mayor Peter Wethey are contesting the top job. If Mr Wethey is successful that will trigger a byelection for his ward seat.


Former councillor Brian McEwing, Christian Simon, Jason Smith, Jay Ben Tane, Craig Woollam, Stephen Soole and Bruce Rogan, of Mangawhai, are the other candidates.

Mr Rogan, chairman of the Mangawhai Ratepayers and Residents Association, lost to Mr Gent at the local government elections last year.

The postal ballot will begin on January 26, 2018, and voting documents are to be returned by post or hand-delivered to the Kaipara District Council offices in Dargaville and in Mangawhai between January 26, 2018, and February 16, 2018, during normal office hours, and until noon on February 17.

A person can apply to enrol as either a residential or ratepayer elector up to and including Friday, February 16, 2018 — the day before the close of voting.

The candidates to contest the Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Ward byelection are Harko Brown, former Green MP David Clendon, Peter Gill, and Kelly Stratford.

Electors will receive voting documents for the postal ballot from January 26 which can be returned by post or hand-delivery to the Far North District Council's Kerikeri Service Centre during normal office hours between January 26 and February 16.

The Procter Library in Kerikeri will be able to accept voting documents between 9am and 12pm on February 17 which is the final day of the by-election.

People can enrol as a residential or ratepayer elector until February 16.

Those who live in the area can enrol or update their details on the Electoral Commission's residential roll by visiting their local post shop.

They can also phone 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56) or go to www.elections.org.nz to enrol online.