Tauranga City Council has received the Local Government Commission's decision on how many wards and elected members voters will have to decide on in the 2016 local body elections.

Local elections are held once every three years and the next election will take place on October 8, this year.

The Local Government Commission confirmed that Tauranga will remain divided into three wards for the purpose of the election.

Tauranga City's elected representatives will include:


Tauranga City Council Mayor

Four councillors at large, elected by the electors of the city as a whole

Two councillors elected by the electors of the Mount Maunganui-Papamoa Ward

Two councillors elected by the electors of the Otumoetai-Bethlehem Ward

Two councillors elected by the electors of the Te Papa-Welcome Bay Ward

Tauranga City Council elections will be by postal vote. Voting papers will be sent out in September 2016, a month before voting starts.

You must be enrolled to vote in Tauranga's local elections.

If you own property within Tauranga, but do not live here, you can apply to go on the ratepayer roll. You will be able to vote in the area where you pay rates, and the area where you live.

For more information about how to vote: www.vote2016.co.nz

More information about Tauranga City elections: www.tauranga.govt.nz/our-council/the-elected-members/elections - this page will be regularly updated.