A helping hand for the next generation of promising athletes from Whanganui Iwi is open again with Tupoho Whānau Trust opening nominations for their 2016/2017 sports scholarships.

First created in 2013, the Tupoho scholarships are to "provide support to rangatahi in the pursuit of their national and international sporting aspirations and careers".

They are given out to four recipients every year - so far 12 athletes of Whanganui Iwi descent have received the scholarship, covering a variety of sports from rugby and basketball to snow boarding and waka ama.

Daniel Kauika.
Daniel Kauika.

The Tupoho trust has partnered with Sport Whanganui and Inspire Whanganui trust to increase the access to sports support services.


Therefore, this year the Tupoho Sports Scholarship recipients will receive a $500 cash grant, a six month gym membership at Inspire Health & Fitness, and membership to the regional Promising Athletes Programme (PAP).

Sport Whanganui run PAP locally - helping condition young athletes aged between 15-18 years and their coaches.

To be eligible for the scholarship, applicants must be aged 15-20 and descendants of Whanganui Iwi, mai i te Kāhui Maunga ki Tangaroa.

Previous recipients can reapply.

Selection will be based on the recipient's level of achievement in their code and the commitment they show to achieving their goals.

Jeron-Reef Hiri-Gush
Jeron-Reef Hiri-Gush

The Scholarship recipients will be presented at the Ray White Whanganui Sports Awards on November 18 at the Whanganui Racecourse.

Applications must be completed by 5pm on Thursday, November 10.

They can be delivered to Inspire Health & Fitness on Wilson St, or the Sport Whanganui offices at the Maria Place Extension.


Applicants will be contacted on November 11 and told the final decision.

Past Recipients:
2013/2014: Gabrielle Hiri (tennis); Akira Marsters (basketball); Pirihira Tamehana (waka ama); Waimanawa Potaka-Osborne Whanarere (touch).
2014/2015: Leila Blackburn (basketball); Joseph Edwards (rugby); Daniel Kauika (waka ama); Tuhirangi Akapita (snow boarding).
2015/2016: Liam Goodhall (judo); Jeron-Reef Hiri-Gush (basketball); Jahvahney Nahona-Hina (rugby league); Teah Te Omanga Kahaki (football).