It's time to nominate your community heroes.

The Whanganui Community Awards are back and nominations are now open to the public.

"Many in our community will remember the Wanganui Community Awards that were launched in 1983 and ran until 2007," mayor Hamish McDouall said.

"During this time, more than 90 people in the Whanganui community were recognised for outstanding voluntary community service.


"Now that Trustpower's community awards programme has been terminated, there's an opportunity for Whanganui to have its own awards again."

The Whanganui Community Awards will focus on community well-being, with categories recognising environmental, social, arts, culture and heritage initiatives for individuals, organisations and youth, McDouall said.

Nominations sought for those whose contributions uplift and enrich our community.
Nominations sought for those whose contributions uplift and enrich our community.

Premium - Council to bring back Whanganui community awards after more than a decade
Whanganui named New Zealand's most beautiful city at Beautiful Awards
Whanganui Health Awards returns for another year
Premium - Whanganui educator Hellen Puhipuhi wins Pacific Peoples Community Leadership Award

The public is encouraged to participate by making nominations that recognise deserving candidates whose "contributions uplift and enrich our community."

The categories

There are three categories for the awards:


Proactive contributions to initiatives that protect, promote or revitalise our natural environment, including promoting sustainability.



Contributions to the community through actions promoting and supporting social inclusion, encouraging a community sense of belonging and generally increasing quality of life in the community.

Arts, heritage and/or culture

Contributions that enhance and increase community participation through creative, cultural, arts and heritage activities.

A maximum of nine awards will be presented each year, with individual, organisation and youth awards available in each category.

The focus of the Whanganui Community Awards is on community well-being and nominations relating to a sport or commercial business will not be accepted.

The panel


The mayor will choose a judging panel of two elected members and two community representatives at the start of each year. This panel will review the nominations and advise the council of the award recipients.

The Whanganui Community Awards selection panel for 2020 is mayor Hamish McDouall, district councillors Charlie Anderson and Helen Craig, and community representatives Jay Rerekura and Carla Donson.

Making a nomination

Pick up a nomination form from any of the Whanganui libraries, or Whanganui District Council Customer Services at 101 Guyton St.

You can also make a nomination online

Nominations close at 5pm on Friday, April 3, 2020.