At an extraordinary meeting of the South Taranaki District Council it was decided to make two ward name changes after considering 21 public submissions.

The name changes involved the proposed Ōpūnake-Manaia and Hāwera-Tangahoe Wards.

STDC policy and governance manager Coral Hair said that the Ward name Taranaki Coastal was chosen over the proposed Ōpūnake-Manaia (currently known as Egmont Plains), "as it was felt this better represented the northern part of the ward and the coastal surf highway that this part of Taranaki was known for".

"Following a submission from the Hāwera-Tangahoe Community Board, Te Hāwera was chosen over the proposed Hāwera-Tangahoe Ward name to avoid confusion, the Council agreed that the names of the wards and community boards should be the same."


In line with the proposal that went out for public consultation three of the four ward boundaries have been redrawn, except for the current Pātea Ward which remains the same.

The main Ward change is the amalgamation of the current Hāwera-Normanby and Tangahoe Wards. The western part of the Tangahoe Ward is included in the slightly enlarged Taranaki Coastal Ward and the rest is joined to the current Hāwera-Normanby Ward creating the new Te Hāwera Ward.