After the previous meeting at Paradise Valley Speedway was rained off, speedway enthusiasts were thrilled to see the sun shining on Saturday.

The Lakeland Chainsaws and Mowers Bay of Plenty Streetstock title was the main event on the night and attracted a strong field. Twenty-five cars lined up to race.

Such a packed line-up meant a fair bit of carnage as the drivers pressed each other for position. Heat wins went to Alan King (59r), Shaun Kingi (75g), and Chris Shingleton (9r).

Overall, Shingleton finished first and King was second. It was some of the best Streetstock racing seen in the valley for a long time - and just a teaser of what can be expected on December 28-29 during the national championship event.


The night got under way with the youth Ministocks. The young drivers are not allowed to use contact intentionally but their races comprise a lot of action and some competitive racing.

Race wins were enjoyed by Terrence Dorrell (212r), Liam Lochhead (15r), Jayden Fraser (92r), Flynn Fraser (93r), and Damon Pinkham (43r).

Eleven vintage StockCars came out for a skid, giving the crowd a taste of nostalgia. They kept it fairly clean in their first two heats, but the final race saw more bumpers being used.

In the House of Travel StockCars and Superstocks series points are awarded to the top 10 finishers of each race.

A point is also earned for each car passed and accumulated over several nights of racing.

The format means the drivers all drive as hard as they can to get near the front, and every pass counts.

Thirty-eight vehicles lined up in the StockCars class and produced four action-packed races.

There were some big knocks in each race and the pace was fierce. Wins went to Michael Rumney (72r), Sheldon Arapere (9r) and Callum Flavell (513r) twice.


The superstocks also held their first round with 29 immaculate race cars putting on a great show for the spectators.

As the evening progressed there were plenty of race incidents and the bumper work was hard and fast all over the track.

The points on offer proved incentive enough to get the drivers racing aggressively and not holding back at all. Heat wins went to Kerry Remnant (19m), Steven Flower (63r) and Lance Ashton (23r).

- Supplied content