Ten girls have been selected in the Bay of Plenty junior girls' cricket team who will play against five other Northern Districts teams from Northland, Counties Manukau, Waikato Valley and Hamilton.

The nine-a-side tournament will see the Bay of Plenty girls play four games during the two days of competition.

The junior girls tournament is again being hosted by Northland Cricket and will be played at Kaipara Flats.

The Bay girls team is the one of the initial steps in Bay of Plenty Cricket's Women's Cricket Pathway, which follows on from the highly successful GoGirl Development programme managed by BOPCA women's development officer Rebecca Yee.


Bay of Plenty Cricket manager Tai Bridgman-Raison said the Kaipara tournament was "an important stepping stone as players transition into the secondary school programme.

For many players this is their first introduction to a tournament type environment, where they are playing a lot of cricket in a short space of time".

Bay of Plenty Junior Girls' team
Mya Clarke, Amelia Harvey, Annie Nolan, Tash Wakelin, Cate Wahl, Elle Archer, Rachel Wahab, Grace Kahle, Ella Rose Carter. (One to be added). Coach: Rebecca Yee.

Related articles: