Rotorua's Tayla Earle has been named in the New Zealand Secondary Schools team take on England and Australia U17 sides in October.

This is the third year in a row Earle has been picked for the 14-strong side which will travel to Canberra from October 1-5.

The former Rotorua Girls' High School student now attends Saint Kentigern College in Auckland.

Whakatane's Trident High School player Khiarna Williams has also made the team and is a current Waikato-BOP Beko squad member.


New Zealand Secondary Schools coach Mary-Jane Araroa said the squad had impressed during performances at the National Development Camp in January as well as the National Age Group Championships in July.

"This is such an important age group for the development of netball in New Zealand and it's exciting to help these players realise their potential.

"The athletes named in the New Zealand Secondary Schools team have stood out at a number of events and we're looking forward to working with them to help them take that next step," she said.

"It is always a challenge to play Australian teams but we're looking forward to that challenge with this exciting group of athletes."

Araroa and assistant Charissa Barham will name their captain and vice-captain at a later date.

2018 NZ Secondary Schools Team:

Addi Albert Jones – Mt Albert Grammar (Northern)

Bianca Nagaiya – Epsom Girls Grammar School (Northern)

Charity Polu – Sacred Heart College Lower Hutt (Central)


Georgia Stroud – Villa Maria College (Mainland)

Georgie Edgecombe - St Peter's School Cambridge (Waikato Bay of Plenty)

Greer Sinclair – Epsom Girls Grammar School (Northern)

Khiarna Williams – Trident High School (Waikato Bay of Plenty)

Killarney Morey – Epsom Girls Grammar School (Northern)

Nanise Waqairo – Howick College (Northern)

Olivia Burnham – Villa Maria College (Mainland)

Paris Lokotui – Queen Margaret College (Central)

Saviour Tui – St Mary's College (Central)

Tayla Earle – Saint Kentigern College (Northern)

Vika Koloto – Baradene College (Northern)