Westbrook Primary School have been crowned Baywide Rippa Rugby champions in the Year 3 and 4 age group today.

Westbrook took out the final beating Glenholme Primary School at Paengaroa Park.

Westbrook was first across the line, however Glenholme Primary scored to tie the game up 5-all.

With fulltime whistled it was Westbrook Primary named winners due to them scoring the first try.


Westbrook Primary coach Kip Anderson said he was extremely proud.

"There are a number of players that this is their first time playing Rippa Rugby.

"I think it was always going to be quite a close game, and we knew that it was going to be quite tough we were just in the right place at the right time to score the first try."

Anderson was impressed by the quality of the referees and commended them on their performance.

"I was rapt with how young the referees were and how good they were," he said.

Te Akau Ki Papamoa School edged out Omanu Primary School in the Year 5 and 6 final with a 6-5 win.

Bay of Plenty Operations Manager Neil Alton said it had been a great day.

"What a buzz today has been, a combination of great weather, an awesome attitude from players, parents, supporters and coaches and great referees. It is great seeing the kids out there enjoying themselves."


Alton thanked Sport Bay of Plenty and the many primary schools that had been involved in the qualifying tournaments and today's event.

"This tournament wouldn't be possible without the assistance from Sport Bay of Plenty, and the many primary schools across the region who have been involved, not just today but the three qualifying tournaments.

"The extra support staff and collaborative effort from our Bay of Plenty Staff have also invaluable in making today a success," Alton said.

Baywide Rippa Rugby Championship Finals Day Results:
Year 3 and 4:
Championship Final: Westbrook Primary School 5 v Glenholme Primary School 5
3rd and 4th: Maungatapu Primary School 5 v Mount Maunganui Primary 3
5th and 6th: Tauranga Primary School 5 v St Mary's Primary School 4
7th and 8th: Te Kura O Te Paroa 7 v Owhata Primary School 2

Year 5 and 6:
Championship Final: Te Akau Ki Primary School 6 v Omanu Primary School 5
3rd and 4th: St Joseph's Primary School 6 v Allandale Primary School 4
5th and 6th: Mount Maunganui Primary School v Pyes Pa Primary School
7th and 8th: Westbrook Primary School 6 v Kawerau South Primary School 3