A spot at finals day in Whakatane next weekend is on the line for the top four teams in each division as they head into semifinals.

All three divisions have produced some thrilling performances this season and tomorrow is expected to be no different.

In Division 1 Western Heights High School will renew their local rivalry with Rotorua Boys High School Second XV when the Raukura Boys travel down the road for a match that will define their season.

Both teams are stacked with talent. Their last encounter, in round two, was a tough battle in which Western Heights were the 28-8 victors.


The outcome will come down to the team best able to implement their game plan.

In the other Division 1 semifinal Te Whare Kura o Mauao host Bethlehem College, who won their spot by points differential.

Te Whare Kura o Mauao remain the only unbeaten team this round having won the Te Kani Shield and the 1st round Dick Little John Trophy with a 29-17 win over Western Heights last week.

In Division 2 Taupo Nui a Tia have had a disrupted run to the semifinals with two defaulted games, so the Taupo boys may be a little rusty when they host Otumoetai College.

The travel factor will make the job a harder task for Otumoetai College. Taupo Nui a Tia have been unbeaten throughout the competition so it will be a tough ask for the Paul Braddock coached team.

In the other Division 2 semifinal Te Puke High School face the other Taupo team, Tauhara College, who will be seeking revenge for a 27-3 loss in round four.

Tauhara College were outgunned in that match and will need to lift their game to topple the second best team in the division.

The Division 3 title will be decided this weekend when Mount Maunganui College take on the U15A team from Rotorua Boys' High School.

This will be the Mount Maunganui boys' last home game and with a sniff of the title it should be the best game of the round.

Bethlehem Coachlines Baywide Secondary Schools Draw:
Saturday, August 12
Division 1:
Western Heights v Rotorua Boys High School II
Te Whare Kura o Mauao v Bethlehem College

Division 2:
Taupo Nui a Tia v Otumoetai College
Te Puke High School v Tauhara College

Division 3:
Mount Maunganui v Rotorua Boys High School U15A
Reporoa/John Paul College v Tarawera College

All games are scheduled for a 12pm kickoff.