This weekend marks the last opportunity for teams still in the running to secure a semifinal spot in the Baywide Secondary School rugby competition.

In Division 1 the round robin ends with a repeat of last year's final when Te Whare Kura o Mauao head to Rotorua to take on Western Heights High School tomorrow - their first chance to challenge for the Te Kani Shield.

As both teams have already secured home semifinals it will be an intriguing match-up. The Te Kani Shield will be the major motivator for both teams and it has potential to be the match of the round.

John Paul College, Bethlehem College and Rotorua Boys' High School Second XV all need wins to secure a semifinal spot.

RBHS play Trident High School, who they beat in a close game in round one. They have been plagued with injuries and will need to dig deep to cement their spot.

Bethlehem College are expected to be too strong for Opotiki College but will need Aquinas College to beat John Paul College to go through to the semifinals.

In Division 2 Taupo Nui a Tia and Te Puke High School have secured home semifinals.


The real battle will be between Tauhara College and Otumoetai College. A win to either team will secure a top-four spot with Te Puke High School expected to be too strong for the Tauranga Boys' College Third XV.

If Otumoetai can get back to their early season form they may just sneak into the semifinals, but will need other results to go their way.

Every result matters and school pride is on the line so this week's round will be a fitting end to a tough and close competition.

In Division 3, Mount Maunganui College and Rotorua Boys' High School Fourth XV have secured the top two spots and will play a straight final on August 12.

Meanwhile, in the Super 8 First XV competition Rotorua Boys' High School are playing New Plymouth Boys' High School at home and need a win to secure a top-four finish.

Baywide Secondary Schools Draw:
Home team first, all games kick off at 12pm

Related articles:

Division 1:
Aquinas College v John Paul College
Opotiki College v Bethlehem College
Rotorua Boys' High School II v Trident High School
Western Heights v Te Whare Kura o Mauao

Division 2:
Tauhara College v Otumoetai College
Whakatane High School v Papamoa College
Taupo Nui A Tia v Rotorua Boys' High School 15A
Te Puke High School v Tauranga Boys' College III