A full roster of eight teams will contest the 2015 McNaughton Trophy, with round one starting in three Bay of Plenty cricket zones tomorrow.

The McNaughton Trophy gives the region's reserve and B grade teams the opportunity to play Baywide cricket, with six Western Bay sides and a team apiece from the Eastern Bay and Rotorua chasing the reserve Baywide silverware in 2015.

Defending McNaughton champions Mount Maunganui start the their defence of the symbol of Bay of Plenty second XI club cricket superiority against Whakatane United in the Eastern Bay of Plenty.

Mount Maunganui, who are chasing their fourth McNaughton title in five years, could receive a good challenge from what is likely to be a young team of Eastern Bay representatives.


Katikati, who were just beaten by Mount Maunganui in last year's final, play Otumoetai Cadets at the Tauranga Domain.

The team from the extremities of the Western Bay won the WBOPCA Shield in the first half of the season, but could have a real battle with Cadets on their home ground.

Rotorua reserve-grade heavyweights Geyser City are likely to have a genuine tussle with 2014 Western Bay champions R&A Sangha at Smallbone Park in Rotorua. Both sides have been front-runners in their respective local competitions in recent seasons and are likely to produce a game that goes down to the wire.

The Western Bay B Grade competition, is represented by Grasshoppers, who are always a force in the local second-tier competition. They will square off with Greerton who will be seeking to add this year's title to their last McNaughton crown in 2006.

- McNaughton Trophy 2015 - Round one draw: Geyser City Sports v R&A Sangha, Smallbone Park; Whakatane United v Mount Maunganui, Rex Morepeth Park; Cadets v Katikati, Tauranga Domain; Grasshoppers v Greerton, Ferguson Park.

McNaughton Trophy Champions: 2014 (Mount Maunganui) 2013 (Katikati) 2012 (Mount Maunganui) 2011 (Mount Maunganui) 2010 (Katikati).