While Bay of Plenty successfully defended the Hawke Cup against Hamilton last weekend, it is back to the Fergus Hickey Rosebowl competition this Sunday.

The Bay will play its second Hawke Cup defence of the season against Manawatu next weekend, but on Sunday they will play Waikato Valley at the picturesque Cambridge Square in Cambridge.

Bay of Plenty will also be looking to improve their position in their last match of the Brian Dunning one-day competition, which is played within the framework of the season-long Fergus Hickey Rosebowl competition.

While the Bay has posted two wins in the Brian Dunning trophy, they are sitting in fourth place, seven points from the lead.


However, victory in Cambridge will help them in the Fergus Hickey title chase and with two two-day games to play against Poverty Bay and Hamilton, they are still in the Fergus Hickey picture.

The one major change from the Hawke Cup victory against Hamilton is the return to the team of top order batsman Ben Christensen.

The Otumoetai Cadets skipper is a quality all rounder, who has scored 425 runs for the Bay in 26 games, with a top score of 73. He has also taken 17 wickets since his debut six seasons ago.

Two Bay recruits, Cameron Neal and Ben Musgrave, have shown plenty of promise in their step up to the Bay of Plenty XI. Both are quality batsman with Neal a master-blaster when given the freedom to hit out.

Bay of Plenty Women are also in action on Sunday, when they travel to play Poverty Bay in Gisborne in a 40 over game.

Bay of Plenty v Waikato Valley at Cambridge February 2:

Peter Drysdale (captain) Tom MacRury, Ben Christensen, Mitch McCann, Brett Hampton, Tim Clarke, Cameron Neal, Ben Musgrave, Tony Goodin, Dale Swan, Tommy Clout, Dan Hill, Campbell Thomas (one to be omitted). Coach: Ben Williams. Manager: Ian Boult.

Fergus Hickey Rosebowl Points: Hamilton 21, Northland 19, Poverty Bay 13, Bay of Plenty 10, Counties Manukau 6, Waikato Valley 4.


Brian Dunning (One-Day) Points: Hamilton 15, Northland 13, Poverty Bay 9, Bay of Plenty 8, Counties Manukau 4, Waikato Valley 4.