There will be at least one new winner when age group sevens players battle it out at the annual Bay of Plenty Secondary Schools Sevens competition.

The tournament gets under way at Gordon Spratt Reserve in Pāpāmoa tomorrow morning and while Tauranga Boys' College will be back defending their titles, there is at least one accolade that will definitely up for grabs.

A new winner will be crowned in the Under 19 Girls' division with last year's winners Rotorua Girls' High School Under 19s not attending this year.

The school will, however, be represented in the under 15 grade, looking to reclaim their title again for 2018.

In the boys' grades, Tauranga Boys' College return to defend their title in the Under 19, Under 15 and Under 14 Boys' divisions following an impressive finals day last year.


The secondary school's tournament will begin two days of sevens in Pāpāmoa with Baywide Club Sevens on Saturday.

Nine Bay of Plenty Clubs will compete for the Open Men's Sir Gordon Tietjens Trophy, which will go to a new team as 2017 winners Tauranga Sports are unable to field a team because of injuries.

In the running for the women's Exia Edwards Trophy are eight teams including the newly formed sides Opotiki, Judea and Mount Maunganui Sports.

The 2017 champions Rangiuru will be challenged by their local rivals, and last year's runners-up Rangataua.

This year's Te Manawa Whenua Grade is expected to be an exciting contest across the two pools.

Last year's title holder Rangiuru have moved into the Open grade allowing for a new title holder between the Division One, Division Two and Senior Reserve Clubs.

Te Puke Sports will return to defend their Tight Five title.

In addition to Te Teko's entries in the Open and Te Manawa Whenua grades, they will also field a team to compete in the Tight Five grade.

Bay of Plenty Rugby Union operations manager Neil Alton said it was fantastic to see a record number of entries this year.

"The growth again in the women's grade with three new women's teams is great to see and the support across the men's game with Te Teko fielding a team across each of the men's grades."

- Supplied content
The details:
Bay of Plenty Secondary School Sevens - Friday, November 2, from 10am.
Baywide Club Sevens - Saturday, November 3, from 9am.
Where: Gordon Spratt Reserve, Pāpāmoa
Entry: Free