Rotorua knows how to celebrate its high achievers and the Rotorua Westpac Business Excellence Awards are a prime example.

The awards, being held tomorrow night at the Energy Events Centre, are made up of six excellence award categories and six business award categories, plus three special awards.

The Supreme Winner of the Year award is given to one of the winners of the excellence award categories. There are two special awards for Business Person of the Year and Outstanding Contribution to Rotorua.

Rotorua Chamber of Commerce acting chief executive Bryce Heard said the annual awards ceremony was the biggest business event in Rotorua.


"We're celebrating business in Rotorua and we have huge numbers of people buying tickets, up over 620, and tickets are still on sale until Friday."

He said there was "a huge number of entries" in the awards and they were all of a high standard. The 24-member judging panel, led by Luke McLean of Westpac Bank, comprises judges from different backgrounds including Destination Rotorua, the Ministry of Education and Osbornes Funeral Directors.

"The judges have done a great job of sifting through and getting them down to the finalists. It was a tough job for the judges, there were more entries than usual, so far all the signs are that things are booming.

"When you go around town you see the awards proudly plastered on the walls of various businesses. It's well publicised and good for marketing. For some reason, Rotorua always have great business awards and they're always really well supported."

Heard said the awards were always a good night out with food, drinks and entertainment.

The finalists
Excellence in Primary Industries
Kilwell Fibretube Ltd
Onuku Maori Lands Trust
Dana (NZ) Ltd
Excellence in Property and Construction
The Glass Guys
Apa Architects & Project Management Ltd
Excellence in the Retail Industry
Four Square Edmund Rd
Dominos Koutu
Richora Honey
Excellence in the Service Sector
Physio Direct Ltd
The Studio Rotorua
Te Taumata Ngati Whakaue Iho-Ake Trust
Event Impressions
Excellence in Tourism and Hospitality
Kaitiaki Adventures
Steam 100% Pure Vegetarian Restaurant
Excellence in Small Business (less than five FTE)
Stolen Bike Catering
Edutech Ltd
Bilingual Business Award
Kaitiaki Adventures
Kahui Legal
Te Aka Mauri - Rotorua Library
Social Licence Business Award
Rotorua Multicultural Council
Kaitiaki Adventures
Four Square Edmund Rd
Innovation and Disruption Business Award
Physio Direct Ltd
Te Aka Mauri - Rotorua Library
Kilwell Fibretube Ltd
Not For Profit
St Chads Charitable Trust
Te Taumata Ngati Whakaue Iho-Ake Trust
Rotorua Tourism Investment Partnership
Employee of the Year
Jiho Lee - McDonald's Fairy Springs Rd
Daniel Ward - Four Square Edmund Rd
Mike King - Lifestyle Building Solutions
Darrin Walsh - NZCU Central
Matthew Heke - NZCU Central
William Mokaraka - Rotorua Top10 Holiday Park.
Young Entrepreneur of the Year
Kacy Sander
Olivia Chesterman

- The winners of Business Person of the Year, Outstanding Contribution to Rotorua and Supreme Business of the Year are chosen from finalists and named on the night.

What: The 2018 Westpac Rotorua Business Excellence Awards
Where: Rotorua Energy Events Centre
When: Friday, October 5, 5.45pm start