A number of Rotorua's young people were recognised recently for their hard work and community spirit.

Six high school recipients received a $2000 grant, with the presentation being held on January 24.

Five of the six recipients were present. Rebecca Fafeita was not able to attend, so they presented hers a week later on January 30.

Hayley Murphy, Rotary Club Rotorua North vocational director, says they have an annual application form for school leavers heading onto further education.


This includes university, art, music, trade schools, or similar, she says.

She says successful applicants demonstrate a good work ethic, interests and personal achievements.

The club's vocational committee then vets all the applications and creates a shortlist of candidates.

Hayley says the cheque is made out to the recipients' educational institution to go directly towards fees, accommodation or course-related costs.

The club has awarded the Further Education Grants for the past 15 years.

"The funds are raised from our Saturday Kuirau Market. This is one of the ways we give funds back to our community.

"This is one of the very special nights in our club calendar and the calibre of young people is always amazing.

"What these students have already achieved is outstanding and it feels great to be able to acknowledge all their hard work, community spirit and achievements.

"It's an exciting time heading off to study, and will be the first time living away from home for some, so if we can contribute in some way and help ease the pressure, that's fantastic."

Hayley thinks it is important to recognise and celebrate our young people's successes and support them to reach their dreams.

"These students are so passionate and motivated to make our community a better place, so who better to support than those looking to lead change and create solutions."

Scholarship recipients:
- Keri-Marie Adlam: Toi-Ohomai Institute of Technology, Bachelor of Nursing.
- Maggie Donovan-Cotter: Victoria University of Wellington, Bachelor of Arts – Majoring in Political Science and minor in International relations.
- Amy Natrass: University of Waikato, Bachelor of Science
- Zach Williams: Victoria University of Wellington, Bachelor of Science – Majoring in Computer Science.
- Kieran Williams: University of Canterbury, Bachelor of Engineering – Majoring in Electrical, Electronics and Mechanical.
- Rebecca Fafeita: Otago University to study Health Science which is the pre-course for the six year study at Medical School.