Bay of Plenty Rugby men's sevens head coach Paul Tietjens has named his squad for the 2017/18 season after trials on Saturday.

"The type of team I have selected is one that is very fit. Given that the game is based around conditioning, that creates a really good culture when players are working hard for each other and working hard together as a unit," Tietjens said.

The selected training squad features experienced All Blacks Sevens players Regan Ware, Bailey Simmonson, Scott Curry, Teddy Stanaway and Joe Webber. Five Bay of Plenty Steamers and four Bay of Plenty apprentice players have been selected in the squad.

The squad also features young talent coming through with the likes of Jeriah Mua (Tauranga Sports) and Jordy Stone (Te Puna) who have excelled in the Baywide club rugby and Bay of Plenty representative seasons.

The Bay of Plenty men's sevens team will compete for the first time this weekend at the Waikato Provincial Union Sevens.


2017/2018 Bay of Plenty men's sevens squad

Paea Lavaka (Arataki)
Regan Ware (Arataki)
Atu Masirewa (Greerton Marist)
Luke Masirewa (Greerton Marist)
Kody McGovern (Greerton Marist)
Savelio Ropati (Greerton Marist)
Bailey Simonsson (Greerton Marist)
Richie Tuivanuavou (Marist St Michaels)
Scott Curry (Mount Maunganui)
Danny Kayes (Mount Maunganui)
Teddy Stanaway (Mount Maunganui)
Solomone Funaki (Paroa)
Dan Crowther (Tauranga Sports)
Josh Honey (Tauranga Sports)
Steve Honey (Tauranga Sports)
Charlie Lawrence (Tauranga Sports)
Jeriah Mua (Tauranga Sports)
Luke Campbell (Te Puke Sports)
Alex Thrupp (Te Puke Sports)
Danny Underwood (Te Puke Sports)
Joe Webber (Te Puke Sports)
Rewita Biddle (Te Puna)
Elijah Nicholas (Te Puna)
Jordy Stone (Te Puna)
Te Aihe Toma (Te Puna)