There are now more than 4000 local students at 10 Rotorua schools forming the Rotorua West Community of Learning.

Rotorua MP Todd McClay said this recognised the hours of hard work and dedication our teachers put in, and the huge respect the community had for them.

"This means students will benefit from shared teaching practices and expertise, with teachers working alongside each other on goals to help improve educational outcomes in the classroom," Mr McClay said.

"I'm proud our schools realise that together they can achieve even more for our children."


Across the country, more than 1000 schools are working together in Communities of Learning to raise student achievement - supporting more than 320,000 Kiwi kids.

"This is 40 per cent of all New Zealand schools."

The communities are funded through the National-led Government's $359 million Investing in Educational Success initiative. Evidence shows quality of teaching and school leadership are the two most important factors in a child's education, so the Government is supporting those areas.

"The communities will work together on challenges they identify for their students, who will then benefit from schools sharing their expertise and resources.

"National is focusing on improving performance in the schooling system to ensure every child has the opportunity to succeed," Mr McClay said.

Schools in the Rotorua West Community of Learning:

Related articles:

Aorangi School
Kaharoa School
Kaitao Intermediate
Kawaha Point School
Mamaku School
Ngongotaha School
Rotorua Primary School
Selwyn School
Western Heights High School
Western Heights Primary School