Council chairwoman of the new Waiariki Bay of Plenty Institute of Technology, Catherine Cooney, has announced an additional three members to the council of the new institution.

The appointment of a fourth representative from the community is pending.

"It is an exciting time in this establishment phase for the new institution as we welcome three members to the new council," said Ms Cooney.

"The new members bring a wealth of experience across diverse industries that will complement the existing skillset within the Council.


"Today we welcome Colin Rangi from Taupo, Dr Tom Richardson from Rotorua and Mike Chapman from Tauranga."

Colin Rangi is of Ngati Tuwharetoa, Ngati Raukawa and Ngati Maniapoto iwi. He is currently the deputy chairman for Ngati Tuwharetoa's Comprehensive Treaty Claims with Te Ariki Sir Tumu te Heuheu, and Chair of the Mokai Marae Trust.

Mr Rangi has been a Ministry of Education Commissioner and Limited Statutory Manager for schools and also a Governance Facilitator to support the Establishment Board of Te Whata Tau o Putauaki. He is a past member and Deputy Chair of Te Mana Mātauranga (TMM) the Iwi Advisory group for Waiariki Institute of Technology.

Dr Tom Richardson is the Chief Executive of AgResearch, New Zealand's largest research institute. He has held executive roles in New Zealand and Australian science for the past 20 years; prior to joining AgResearch, he was a scientist and then Chief Executive at New Zealand Forestry Research Institute (FRI/Scion). Dr Richardson has held numerous industry, science and education governance roles, which currently include Farmax, Ltd; Grasslanz Technology, Ltd; Riddet Institute; St Paul's Collegiate Agribusiness Centre of Excellence Advisory Board (Chair); and Council member of Waiariki Institute of Technology.

Michael Chapman is the Chief Executive of Horticulture NZ. Mr Chapman was admitted as a Barrister and Solicitor in 1982 and has core skills in strategic planning and development, stakeholder liaison, negotiation and communications. Mr Chapman was the Chief Executive of NZ Kiwifruit Growers Incorporated 2005 to 2015 and before that Chief Executive of Kiwifruit New Zealand 2002 to 2005, and is a Council member of Bay of Plenty Polytechnic.

The three appointments are in addition to the recent ministerial appointments of Ms Cooney, Ian Turner as Deputy Chair, and Rahera Ohia QSM and Ngaroma Tahana as Council members.

Related articles:

23 Mar, 2016 1:00pm
2 minutes to read

The Council is responsible for setting the vision and strategic direction of the new institution as well as appointing the Chief Executive.

The new institution will commence operations on 1 May 2016; both students and staff should experience a seamless transition that will build on the strong performance of the current institutions to meet the needs of the entire region.