Both the men and women's Counties Manukau teams have won the top titles at the 2017 Bayleys National Sevens.

The men's side retained their title with a narrow 14-7 victory in the Cup final against Waikato.

It was all square at 7-all at half-time after Waikato opened the scoring through Sevu Reece and Liam Daniela with both converted.

There was nothing to choose between the two sides after the break but Peni Buakula scored the vital converted try diving over late on.


In the women's field, Counties Manukau beat defending champions Manawatu 24-17 in the Cup final.

Counties stormed ahead in the first half with two converted tries from Portia Woodman and Renee Wickliffe also diving over to take her side 19-0 into the break.

Woodman completed her hattrick early in the second half before it was all Manawatu pressure. Sarah Goss powered over shortly followed by Kristina Sue.

Counties were down to just five players at one stage allowing Sue to touch down for her second try late on, but it was too little, too late.

Full 2017 Bayleys National Sevens results here