Rotorua and Matata will each host a Bay of Plenty Volcanix game in this year's expanded Farah Palmer Cup.

The draw for this year's competition, which will feature 12 teams, split across premiership and championship divisions, was released today.

Bay of Plenty will open their campaign against Canterbury at the Tauranga Domain on September 1, followed by Waikato at Matata on September 8.

Their next home match is against the new addition to the competition Taranaki at the Rotorua International Stadium on September 21.


New Zealand Rugby said this will be the biggest women's provincial competition for more than ten years and fans could expect to see more of the competition than ever before with Sky broadcasting a minimum of 16 live matches including at least one semi-final and the final, as well as premiering a dedicated weekly highlights show.

Canterbury hold the provincial silverware after a stellar 2017 season when they claimed a maiden Farah Palmer Cup title and locked away the JJ Stewart Trophy.

They will be joined in the premiership division by last year's championship winners Bay of Plenty, along with Counties Manukau, Waikato, Auckland and Manawatu.

Wellington, Otago, North Harbour, Tasman, Hawke's Bay and Taranaki make up the championship.

Teams play each opposition in their own division and one cross over match throughout the six week round robin.

Bay of Plenty Volcanix Mitre 10 Farah Palmer Cup Draw:

Week 1: v Canterbury at Tauranga Domain, Tauranga – Saturday September 1, 11.35am

Week 2: v Waikato at Matata – Saturday September 8, 2.45pm

Week 3: v Manawatu at Central Energy Trust Arena – Saturday September 15, 1.00pm

Week 4: v Taranaki at Rotorua International Stadium, Rotorua – Friday September 21, 5.05pm

Week 5: v Auckland at TBC – Friday September 28, 5.05pm

Week 6: v Counties Manukau at TBC – Saturday October 6, TBC

Semi Finals: Saturday October 13

Finals: Saturday October 20