A new-look committee structure will be considered by the Tauranga City Council today.

Tauranga Mayor Greg Brownless has recommended six standing committees called city transformation, transport, environment, community and culture, economic development and investment, and audit/finance/risk and monitoring.

The meeting will also debate the document, called standing orders, which lays down the rules for the orderly conduct of meetings. The other big talking point will be the code of conduct for the mayor and 10 councillors.

The meeting will be held at 1pm today.