Nominations for local body elections closed today at midday.

Last minute nominations were still being compiled by the electoral office, but as at 1pm eight people were running for Tauranga city mayor, including Larry Baldock, Greg Brownless, Kelvin Clout, Max Mason, Steve Morris, Doug Owens, Noel Peterson and Graeme Peterson.

As at 1pm 23 people were running for Tauranga City Council seats (full list below).

As at 11am four people had thrown their hat into the ring for Western Bay mayor, including Gwendalyn Merriman, Don Thwaites, Garry Webber and Kevin Tohiariki.


Seventeen people were running for seats on Western Bay of Plenty District Council (full list below).

Final nominations were received for Bay of Plenty Regional Council. Twelve people have been nominated for seats on council representing Tauranga general, Western Bay and Mauao Maori constituencies (full list below).

Western Bay general constituency had two nominations and with only two vacancies Norm Bruning and Jane Nees have been declared elected. No voting would take place for those positions.

A full list of nominations for Bay of Plenty district Health Board would be released at 6pm.

Voters would receive their voting papers mid to end of September, and the voting would be open until 8 October.

Tauranga City Council
Mount Maunganui-Papamoa Ward (2 vacancies)
Brown, Leanne (Looking After Locals)
Harnor, Bob (Independent)
Morris, Steve (Delivering for the Mount and Papamoa)
Stanley, Peter

Otumoetai-Pyes Pa Ward (2 vacancies)
Baldock, Larry (More Democracy Less Bureaucracy)
Edlin, Bev (Re-elect for Effective Governance)
Moore, Graeme (For progress - with prudent financial management)
Nesdale, Sheldon (I Am Listening)
Stewart, Catherine (The Voice of Common Sense)
West, Jo (A New Perspective)

Te Papa-Welcome Bay (2 vacancies)
Ward Grainger, Bill (Have your say, for your City)
Misa, Jesse

Council - At Large (4 vacancies)
Christiansen, Tony (Committed to Tauranga)
Clout, Kelvin (Energy and Experience)
Coffin, Antoine (Independent - Keeping it real)
Curach, Rick (PICK RICK - Let's Get Real)
Davidson, Alan (Independent)
Mason, Max (Experienced Positive Leadership)
McIntosh, Gail (Re-elect for Sound Financial Management)
Ottaway, Grayson
Peterson, Noel James (Independent)
Robb, Hugh E.
Wassung, Mark

Western Bay District Council
Kaimai Ward (4 vacancies)
Mark Dean
Christina Humphreys
Don Thwaites
Margaret Murray-Benge
John Palmer
Tracy Livingston-Pooley

Katikati - Waihi Beach Ward (3 vacancies)
Phil Bowyer
David Marshall
Mike Williams
Peter Mackay
Ross Goudie
Kevin Tohiariki

Te Puke - Maketu Ward (4 vacancies)
Mike Lally
Margaret Colmore
Gus Cantlon
Kevin Marsh
John Scrimgeour

Bay of Plenty Regional Council
Tauranga General constituency (5 vacancies)
John Cronin
Stuart Crosby
Keith Johnston
Rusty Kane
David Love
Michael O'Neill
Paula Thompson
Andrew Von Dadelszen

Western Bay of Plenty General constituency (2 vacancies)
Norm Bruning
Jane Nees

Mauao Maori constituency (1 vacancy)
Carlton Bidois
Awanui Black