Motorsport: Dixon pipped in controversial finish

Scott Dixon. Photo / Getty Images.
Scott Dixon. Photo / Getty Images.

Scott Dixon has finished second at the caution-free Grand Prix in Long Beach today following a controversial finish with winner Simon Pagenaud.

Dixon and his Chip Ganassi Racing team believed Pagenaud should have been penalized for crossing a blend line as he returned to the track following a pit stop.

The Dixon camp interpreted the rule as a clear violation, but IndyCar only gave Pagenaud a warning.

Dixon and team manager Mike Hull both said IndyCar had claimed there would be no more warnings given out this season.

Pagenaud earned his first victory for Team Penske by holding off Dixon to win. Pagenaud failed to win a race last season, his first driving for Roger Penske.

But he entered Sunday's race as the IndyCar points leader and inching closer to his first Penske victory.

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf02 at 30 Apr 2017 10:55:26 Processing Time: 524ms