The Wanganui Warriors Superstock team heads to Palmerston North today for the biggest meeting on the speedway calendar.

After a one-year absence, the Warriors will join thirteen other teams in the ENZED Superstock Teams Championship at the Robertson Holden International Speedway.

It has been a hectic time since the team was named last week.

The Warriors have received huge support from the Whanganui business community and further afield.


The 2018 livery has been applied by Display Associates, and the standard of presentation of the cars will be second to none.

The team champs draw was done on Tuesday evening, and the Warriors face a tough first night.

Their opening race is against two-time defending champions the Hawke's Bay Hawkeyes.

Later this evening, the Warriors will face last year's runners-up in the Great Britain Lions.

While the Hawkeyes will be a tough first-up opponent, the team is significantly different to last year's champion team.

Blockman Jason Long has been picked up by the Gisborne Giants, Thomas Stanaway is absent as he tunes his new car while Steve Jude and entertainer Mike McLachlan are also missing.

The Warriors have history on their side against the Hawkeyes as well.

The last time the teams met in 2015, the Warriors beat Hawke's Bay to go through to the grand final.


The GB Lions will be a tough nut to crack as well.

Much will depend on how the team gels, and on the reliability of their borrowed car.

The Lions were beaten by the Auckland Allstars in a hitout last weekend, but will be better for that outing.

Key to beating the Lions will be containing three-time BRISCA F1 World Champion Frankie Wainman Jr.

The Lions captain is a class act, and has been the mainstay of the British teams coming to New Zealand for a decade.

The recent record between the Lions and the Warriors is one-all.

The Warriors beat the Lions in 2014 en-route to the final, whereas the Lions returned the favour against a somewhat-depleted Warriors team in 2016.

There is plenty of talent in the local side.

Dion Mooney is a two-time 2NZ in the Stockcar class, and has impressed at team champs over many years when stepping up to a Superstock car.

Chad Ace (4V) is a fast and aggressive young driver, while Clint Hill (29V) has a reputation for never taking a backward step.

Scott 'Scooter' McIntosh (22V) was in good form at Oceanview Speedway last weekend, picking up three wins over the two nights of racing.

Lastly Shaun Pearson (112V), is a vastly experienced racer and was part of the Warriors team beaten in the final by the Palmerston North Panthers in 2015.

Fourteen qualifying races will be held tonight, with the top eight teams on points advancing to Sunday night's finals in two tiers.

The racing on tomorrow night is cut-throat, and the form book is thrown out the window.
Sunday night's racing will be supported by the Burger King Pro Dirt Super Saloon Series, where most of the country's best Super Saloon drivers will put on a show for the sell-out crowd.

A highlight of the BK series will be the appearance of USA driver Jason 'the Highside Hustler' Feger, who has come to New Zealand to compete in four rounds of the popular series.

The even nature of the fourteen teams in the Superstock Teams Championships this year suggest that this could be the best one yet.

The Wanganui Warriors will leave nothing in the tank in their quest to finally win New Zealand speedway's most sought-after title.