Wanganui Golf Club's Phil Hooper and Tara Raj were able to repeat their 2017 success when the club championship finals were decided on Saturday.

Playing in good conditions, Raj won her fourth consecutive Ladies Championship, taking out the Silver final in comfortable fashion, while Hooper had a tougher round to retain his Senior Men's crown, with the lead exchanged several times and the outcome went right down to the end of the 36 holes.

In her first championship final, it was an emotional win for Pat Follows in the Ladies Bronze 1 Championship, who was in front for most of the day against defending champion Anne Williams.

Graeme Paulger was solid all day and never looked like surrendering the lead he gained in the Intermediate Men's Championship, allowing little opportunity for spirited opponent Bryan Healey to make a comeback.


One of the toughest finals was the Junior Men's Championship, with Krish Patel and Ray Signal both worthy finalists and capable of performing above their weight.

Patel lead early and managed to hold off Signal's very persistent and late challenge.
Neville Butler added another title to his recent successful list of championships by winning the Men's C Grade for the second year running.

The colourful Sue Wilson won the Ladies Bronze 2 division final.


Wanganui Golf Club Championship winners.

Men's Senior: Phil Hooper; Men's Intermediate: Graeme Paulger; Men's Junior: Krish Patel; Men's C Grade: Neville Butler; Ladies Silver: Tara Raj; Ladies Bronze 1: Pat Fellows; Men's Senior Plate: Caleb Tuck; Men's Senior Consolation: Grant Allen; Men's Intermediate Plate: Anthony Bell; Men's Intermediate Consolation: Ian Howells; Men's Junior Plate: Steve Schrider; Men's Junior Consolation: Phil Brown; Ladies Bronze 2: Sue Wilson; Ladies Silver Consolation: Brooke Polkinghorne; Ladies Silver Flight: Carron Thompson; Ladies Bronze 1 Flight: Elaine Holden; Ladies Bronze 1 Consolation: Lyn Hussey.