Hawera's Malcolm McDonald won straight through to claim the Singles A crown at the Wanganui Croquet Club's 17th annual Jay Winstone Golf Croquet tournament at the weekend.

Playing the singles matches on Saturday saw McDonald, with seven points, the clear winner ahead of Palmerston North's former New Zealand representative Josh Smith (5) and Marton's Murray McNae (4).

Local Eddy Symes was the winner of the Singles B grade with six points, on a countback from fellow Wanganui club member Cherie Hawkins and Hawera's Leila Martin, also six.

Sunday was the handicap doubles, with the A competition being taken out by Martin and Dorothy Huges (6), while Smith and Isobelle Ward were runnerup (5) and Tauranga's Gretchen and Graham Benvie were third (4).


The Doubles B grade was won by Bruce and Pat Robinson from New Plymouth with 12 points, in a countback from Wanganui's Sue Aiken and Roger Law, while Plimmerton's Ian Stuart and Mahi Ani were third.