A Rotorua netballer has been named in the Netball Waikato Bay of Plenty Beko training squad for the 2018 season.

Te Awawhakawhitirua Gerrard-Nicholas has been named in the 19-strong squad while Rotorua's Jessie Wharekura has been named as a training partner.

The Beko trials were held in Tauranga on September 17. A group of 30 athletes were selected to attend a second trial in Cambridge.

Of the squad three will be selected for Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic training partner opportunities, and a final 12 will be named in February 2018.


Training partners will attend Beko preseason trainings and may be added to the squad if performance warrants.

Meanwhile Rotorua's Waiata Jennings, Stacey Niao, and Jessie Wharekura have been named in the Netball Waikato Bay of Plenty Level 2 Performance Squad. The Level 2 programme will assist athletes who are either at the pre-elite level or who are returning to play from injury or time away from competitive netball.

The programme supports their overall development and individual goals to breakthrough to Beko and other competitive squads.

Beko Squad:
Khiarna Williams - Whakatane
Harley Smith - Whakatane
Kelsey McPhee - Hawke's Bay
Emily Ussher - Eastern Waikato
Eden Andersen - Hamilton City
Te Awawhakawhitirua Gerrard-Nicholas - Rotorua
Lisa Mather - Hamilton City
Ali Wilsher - Hamilton City
Jaydi Taylor-Chaffey - Hawke's Bay
Phoenix Paniora - Whakatane
Kiani Stevenson - Auckland
Alex Iro - Auckland
Emily Patterson - Hamilton City
Courtney Elliott - Hamilton City
Michaela Ashford - Hamilton City
Lyanne Eukaliti - Hamilton City
Kate Littlejohn - Hamilton City
Hannah Ridling - Hamilton City
Jenna O'Sullivan - Hamilton City

Beko Training Partners:
Grace Watson - Hamilton City
Savanagh Cassidy - Hamilton City
Jessie Wharekura- Rotorua
Ki-Tana Tuhakaraina - Hamilton City
Simmon Howe - Hamilton City

Level 2 Performance Squad:

Grace Watson - Hamilton City
Bianca McLeod - Whakatane
Emily Ridling - Hamilton City
Jordan TeWake - Waihi
Liz Watson - Hamilton City
Manaia Rapana-Feather - Hamilton City
Grace Namana - Hamilton City
Waiata Jennings - Rotorua
Dee-Dayna Hale-Riddiford - Hamilton City
Britney Emery - Harbourside
Brooklyn Dunn - Hamilton City
Savanagh Cassidy - Hamilton City
Poi Wharawhara - Matamata
Roelien Du Plessis - Katikati
Te Ohomauri Kingi - Palmerston North
Morgana Grose - Harbourside
Jade Wharemate - Hamilton City
Stacey Niao - Rotorua
Georgia Eldridge - Hamilton City
Georgia Edgecombe - Hamilton City
Briana Cardon - Hamilton City
Materoa Poi - Matamata
Grace Herdman - Whakatane
Jessie Wharekura - Rotorua
Ki-Tana Tuhakaraina - Hamilton City
Emma Smith - Hamilton City
Olivia Richardson - Harbourside
Libby Clayton - Hamilton City