Motorbikes ranging from a 1949 BSA to a 2004 Suzuki Boulavard competed in the Wanganui Vintage Car Club (VCC) 37th Castrol Autumn Motorcycle Trial in Whanganui.

Organiser Bill James said about 30 competitors took part in the trial on Saturday, April 13.

They travelled from Whanganui East through Okoia, Fordell, up the Turakina Valley and on to Mangamahu School for lunch.

There was a choice of travelling back to the clubrooms via the Burma Hill, Fields Track, Kakatahi and down the Parapara Highway or via Fordell, Durie Hill, across the Whanganui City Bridge, up Victoria Avenue, Dublin St, across the Dublin Street Bridge, finishing at the Whanganui East clubrooms where the prizegiving dinner was held.


On Sunday, April 14, some competitors visited a local restorations garage before travelling home.

"They were thankful for excellent weather and the weekend was very much enjoyed by all," James said.

Post war – Kendrick Cup: 1 Dave Henwood (Masterton), 1952 BSA B33; 2 Simon Byrne (Masterton), 1949 BSA B31; 3 Peter Simpson (Lower Hutt), 1959 Matchless G3 CS.

Post 60 V: 1 Bruce Davidson (New Plymouth), 1963 AJS CSR; 2 Ian Street (New Plymouth), 1977 Honda CB 550 Supersport; 3 Aaron Kendrick (Whanganui), 1979 Suzuki TF 185.

Post 80 V: 1 Mike Marshall (Feilding), 1983 Suzuki GN 250; 2 Glyn & Cathy Clements (Masterton), 1982 Honda CX 500 Combo.

Classics: 1 Robert Hood (Whanganui), 1975 Triumph T160; 2 Bob Millen (New Plymouth), 1962 Norton Dominator; 3 Murray Donnithorne (Whanganui), 1974 Triumph Trident.

First overall (Cliff Lowe Memorial Trophy): Dave Henwood
John Kendrick Memorial Trophy (most desirable British single cylinder): Simon Byrne
Coleman Cup (highest scoring local VCC member): Aaron Kendrick
Hard Luck Trophy: Trevor Barnes (Upper Hutt), 1977 Honda 400/4