A Havelock North High School band took out first place at a regional music competition on Saturday night.

The band, Those Daze, won the Hawke's Bay Smokefreerockquest at the Municipal Theatre in Napier.

Keys player Wiremu Shaw-Throp said the five piece surf-reggae band, made up of 15-year-old students, had an "awesome" night and were ecstatic after they had played.

"We were jumping around and hugging each other, it was probably the best we've ever played and the tightest we've been.


"There weren't really many nerves while we were up there. I was loving it and we really got the crowd going."

The other members of Those Daze are Joe Ledword (guitar), Curtis Pitt (bass), Thomas Grant (drums) and Harry Mason (guitar, vocals).

The band also took out the ZM Peoples' Choice voted by text on the night.

Second place in the band category went to Elephant Room from Napier Boys' High School, with members Harry Champion (guitar, vocals), Ben Cornes (guitar, backing vocals), Louis Jardine (bass) and Jackson Ranapiri (drums).

Smokefreerockquest founder and director Glenn Common said there were more bands than ever before reaching the high standard required from national finalists.

"This means that real dedication is required to achieve the stand out quality that the judges will be looking for.

"They have to capture 15 minutes of their original material on video for selection as national finalists.

"It's a process that demands creativity and musical ability, being able to work together as a group and having good organisational skills. What separates them out is perseverance – industry success seldom happens overnight."

The top two bands from Saturday night won musical gear from associate sponsors NZ Rockshops and will join solo-duo winners for Hawke's Bay Izzy Lorch from Taradale High School (first) and Tomairangi Henare from Napier Boys' High School (second) in the opportunity to gain selection for the national final in September.

They will have to submit footage for selection as finalists to play off at the Smokefreerockquest national final on September 22 in Auckland.

Hawke's Bay awards:

Band first: Those Daze, Havelock North High School

Band second: Elephant Room, Napier Boys' High School

Band third: Antares, Napier Boys' High School

Solo/Duo first: Izzy Lorch, Taradale High School

Solo/Duo second: Tomairangi Henare, Napier Boys' High School

Smokefree Tangata Beats Award: Te Paki'z from Tamatea High School

ZM People's Choice: Those Daze, Havelock North High School

Smokefree Best Vocals: Vika Molipeli, PJ Gemmell, Darius Tuhiwai, Karlos Tekahu from The Bingo Boys, Flaxmere College

MAINZ Musicianship: Jesse Schroder-Smale from Drive West, Napier Girls' High School

Best Song: Clouded Lens, Napier Boys' High School

Fatboy Style Award: The Bingo Boys, Flaxmere College

APRA Lyric Writers' Award: Danica Bryant, Napier Girls' High School