No-one has come out to challenge Bill Dalton for the mayoralty.

Provisionally, the Napier mayor is unopposed, retaining his position for another term.

Mr Dalton said he was "delighted" to continue his work without getting involved with the "time and expense" of running a campaign.

Napier City Councillor Annette Brosnan is also unopposed in her Onekawa/Tamatea ward seat. She too will serve a second term.


"It is expensive running for public office and it's certainly time consuming. It is also a distraction when there is so much development going on in the city. I'm pleased to be able to just get on with the job."

While Ms Brosnan said in some ways it was a shame not to go to a vote and have her mandate confirmed.

"I hope this result is due to those in my ward who are interested in its strong representation, see the hard work I'm putting in and love I have for the area, and support me in continuing that work" she said.

The following nominations have been received for the Council's other three wards and Council at Large constituency:

Ahuriri Ward (one vacancy): Larry Dallimore, David George, Mark Herbert.

Nelson Park Ward (two vacancies): Maxine Boag, Mark Hamilton, Grant Hammond, Api Tapine.

Taradale Ward (two vacancies): Graeme Taylor, David Trim, Tania Wright.

Council at Large (six vacancies): Steve Gibson, Martin Good, Claire Hague, David Hannay, Tony Jeffrey, Maryanne Marsters, Andy Mason, Richard McGrath, Keith Price, Michelle Pyke, Faye White, Kirsten Wise.

Voting papers for the local elections will be sent in September with voting open on 15 September and closing at midday 8 October.

The candidate list and other elections information can be viewed at keyword #elections.