Just hours remain for those seeking to represent Hawke's Bay to throw their hats in the ring.

Nominations for people wanting to stand for the region's councils, community boards, licensing trusts, and district health boards, close at noon today.

There were more than 100 candidates confirmed yesterday, according to each body's most recent lists of received nominations.

Last night Local Government New Zealand president Lawrence Yule said he thought there would be more nominations by noon today.


"This is a once-in-a-three-year opportunity for people to try to influence the direction of their communities," he said, urging those who wanted to make a difference to submit a nomination.

Those nominated so far included the incumbent mayors for Napier City, Hastings District and Wairoa District councils.

Incumbent Hawke's Bay Regional Council chairman Fenton Wilson said he had submitted his nomination later yesterday.

In total, all councils had received more nominations than available seats.

In Napier, incumbent Mayor Bill Dalton and Onekawa-Tamatea Ward councillor Annette Brosnan appeared to be running uncontested. There were additional candidates for the at large, Taradale and Nelson Park wards, with three vying for the one Ahuriri seat.

Hastings District Council's most recent list showed the incumbent Flaxmere Ward councillors, Henare O'Keefe and Jacoby Poulain, and Mohaka Ward councillor Tania Kerr appeared to be unopposed. The mayoralty was being contested by three candidates - incumbent Lawrence Yule, councillor Adrienne Pierce and Guy Wellwood.

Central Hawke's Bay seats were hotly contested, with 16 candidates standing for the eight seats on the Aramoana-Ruahine and Ruataniwha wards.

The successful mayoral candidate, whether councillor Sally Butler, Alex Walker or Gerard Pain, would be the region's first new mayor in 12 years.

Incumbent Wairoa District Mayor Craig Little was running against councillor Benita Cairns and Roland Matley. Mr Matley was also one of 11 standing as councillor at large.

According to Hawke's Bay Regional Council's list, updated at 2pm yesterday, five candidates were vying for the three Napier seats and three for the four Hastings positions. There was only one candidate confirmed for each of the Wairoa, Ngaruroro, and Central Hawke's Bay constituencies.

Eight standing for seven Hawke's Bay District Health Board positions.

Local Government Minister Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga encouraged those thinking about standing in this year's local elections to get their nominations in on time.

"Good local governance is at the heart of the prosperity of local communities."