National has taken the lead in the latest Bay of Plenty Times Tauranga street poll.

The unscientific street poll asked 100 people enrolled in the Tauranga electorate to select the party and candidate they would give their vote to ahead of the September 23 election.

The National Party received 45 votes and Simon Bridges was the clear favourite candidate with 46 votes.

Mr Bridges said he was pleased with the results although the only poll that mattered was on Saturday night.


"I'm taking nothing for granted. I'll be out door knocking and sign waving and having all sorts of meetings to make sure I'm getting that strong National message out."

Labour received 21 party votes and 16 votes for Tauranga candidate Jan Tinetti.

Ms Tinetti said the Labour team had been working hard in the last week of the campaign to encourage their supporters to the electoral booths.

"We continue to meet a lot of voters who are wanting to see a change in government and are excited about the prospect of having Labour MPs from the Tauranga region after the election."

NZ First gathered 14 party votes and 13 votes for Clayton Mitchell, indicating people were considering splitting their vote ahead of Saturday's election.

Twelve people indicated they had not made up their mind or were not voting.

Emma-Leigh Hodge from the Greens collected six votes for Tauranga candidate. Two people gave the Greens their tick for preferred party.

However Ms Hodge was focusing on "the one poll that matters, the election result".

The Maori Party received four party votes, just ahead of Act with three votes while The Opportunities Party (TOP) collected one vote. Conservative and United Future both received no support in the poll.

Six Tauranga residents had not yet decided which candidate they preferred and one person supported Stuart Pedersen from Act.

"I am delighted Tauranga voters had heard and understood the message that all party votes for Act would count towards electing a refreshed National-led coalition government on Saturday," said Mr Pedersen.

Joseph Borell from the Maori party, Jason Jobsis from Democrats for Social Credit, Rusty Kane an independent candidate, Yvette Lamare an independent candidate, Ben Rickard from United Future, and Hugh Robb an independent candidate all received no votes.

Mr Kane said most voters were conditioned to relate to a party and the party candidate and not to an independent without party affiliations.

"If an independent gets more votes than a political party, then that is a huge success for the independent."

Mr Robb said he had conducted his own polls which showed he had risen from 0.3 per cent support to 2.1 per cent.

To date, more than 550,000 New Zealanders had already placed their advanced vote around the country.